The best friend is coming to visit. I pick her up tomorrow around 730pm at National Airport. She's coming here for a conference in DC, because she's a kick ass lobbyist for the poor. She works here: http://www.milhs.org/
Anyway, besides being the best friend she is an awesome person. I still remember the first time I met her in Tallahassee, at my favorite bar. http://www.poorpaulspourhouse.com/ It was her first day in Tallahassee, and I, being a law student, was at the bar early - probably around 4? She was one of the only other people in there besides the bartenders. And she was reading a newspaper............AT A BAR. So, obviously I had to make fun of her, and we were best friends ever since.
She is an inspiration to many people, although as is true with most self-sacrificing people, she doesn't know how much of an inspiration she really is. Although we differ on pretty much every political opinion there is (for example: she wants to get rid of most prisons, and I spent most of my career putting people IN prison) she is my person and I love her dearly.
Now, in order to get ready for her visit, I of course, waited until the final days to start cleaning out the guest room. Which, during our basement renovation project (more to come on that later) has become the storage room for all of our random crap that I have been too busy or lazy to actually put away. So today, I started cleaning it out.
We all have these rooms in our houses. The rooms that we throw things into, without a care for any sort of order - thinking, "I'll put that where it goes later". Normally this happens when an unexpected guest decides to tell you, 30 minutes before they arrive, that they are dropping by, and you end up shoving everything into this room. Kinda like the adult version of shoving everything under your bed or in your closet.
I found bags of clothes that two years ago, when I moved up here, I decided to donate after going through my closet in a half hearted attempt to get my crap in some sort of order. Yet, two years later, they are still here. Random craft projects I started, like the cover to my new kitchenaid mixer that I thought I would sew from scratch (those of you that know me, are now laughing outrageously at the thought of me sewing). Christmas decorations that should be up in the attic.......yes it is the end of April, DON'T JUDGE ME, and kitchen appliances that won't fit into our kitchen.
So here I am, standing in the middle of a total mess, wondering where in the heck am I going to shove all this crap now. Because you know I'm not actually going to put it AWAY. So, of course, I shoved all of it either back into the corners of my bedroom, where she won't go and look, or into the corners of the office (which serves as a secondary storage room at the moment). You know, like from under the bed to into the closet.
And all this crap that I have accumulated throughout my life got me to thinking. I remember driving somewhere at somepoint in my life, and looking out the windows and seeing building after building of storage units. In every town, in every state in the US there are battles waging between self storage companies. There are programs now on tv about storage wars, and the random junk you can find in an abandoned unit or house or attic. And I wonder - even in this time of economic recession, we American's still have enough crap in our lives, to keep these businesses afloat and booming. Call it a nod to the American way of life that we stand in line for 12 hours to buy the new phone that's out - or the new gaming system that is going to change the way we view our boring lives. When we have such a high level of homelessness or poverty in our country, where people are living without basic necessities of life - instead of donating our random items, we hoard them into units that we pay monthly, never clean out and end up abandoning years later; which, in turn, creates these Storage Wars TV shows.
These self storage units apparently didn't come into being until the 1960's.* Which I find oddly interesting, as I wonder, why? Why the 1960's? I know that some historians view the 60's as an era of irresponsible excess and flamboyance, which would make sense with the coming of age of self storage units.
Regardless, I shall make an effort to clear the house of excess clutter and donate those things that end up sitting in the corner of some room somewhere collecting dust. You know, tomorrow, or when I have time.
* http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Self_storage
Monday, April 23, 2012
Sunday, April 22, 2012
Chickens need "this side up" signs.
So tonight for dinner I'm trying this recipe:
http://allrecipes.com/recipe/roast-sticky-chicken-rotisserie-style/detail.aspx
With some alterations of course. I used one 4 pound bird, same amount
of spices (except the salt) and added some minced garlic inside the
bird.
Currently
it is in the oven, and I'm majorly hungry, but alas, I must wait to for
the slow roast. While waiting, the boyfriend and I are tasting a new
wine. A few weeks ago a few friends got together at a wonderful little
wine shop, http://www.winestyles.net/southriding. We left there with several bottles of wine, and tonight we are tasting one of those bottles. Of course the boyfriend is much better at this than I am, so he decided to help me with the review:
Beaucanon Estate
2004
Napa Valley Red Wine
Trifecta
$26
They describe the grapes as a Bordeaux blend, without listing the grape varieties.
Appearance: Deep violet
Legs: (to which I exclaimed, "wine doesn't have LEGS!!! Mine better not get up and walk away) the boyfriend explained: "Legs are when you spin the wine in the glass and watch the liquid trail down the glass. You look to see how fast or slow the wine descends. As it descends, it does so in lines - and this creates what they call legs. The slower the wine descends, usually that indicates a higher level of alcohol content." (this is where I started paying attention) This wine is fairly leggy. Which means, to us non wine experts, the alcohol content is going to be higher than the normal wine.
Smell: leather, pepper, small amount of clove, black cherry/currant
Taste: Soft introduction with light tannins. Followed by significant leather with mocha mixing with the leather which smooths out the flavor. Building to a strong spicy, and tannic finish.
Overall impressions: A great example of how a blend of Bordeaux grapes can reduce the "face smacking" intensity of the Cabernet grape and add complexity to the finish of a wine.
Rate: 8.75 / 10 for wines between $25-$50.
UPDATE ON THE CHICKEN:
So, I pulled the chicken out of the oven and let it rest after about 4 hours. Apparently, when I rubbed the spices and stuck it in the refrigerator to marinate (meditate) I put it in upside down - as in breast side down. And it was placed that way in the oven............so all the spices were rubbed off. Fabulous. HOW WAS I SUPPOSED TO KNOW? There aren't any directions when you use a whole chicken - it looks the same when it's uncooked - gross.
The potatoes and carrots that were roasting on the bottom weren't done, even after 4 hours! So I had to shove them into the oven while he carved the chicken, upside down. I took the opportunity to build a sauce out of the drippings with some chicken bouillon, milk and flour. And then I cheated when it wasn't thickening and added some cornstarch.
I was worried that since I did not brine the chicken the night before, and cooking it for such a long time, it would be dry. However, I was pleasantly surprised that it was very moist and didn't need the gravy at all. The potatoes and veggies did - as they were pretty dried out.
I agree with the description of the recipe on Allrecipes.com - it does taste like the rotisserie chicken you can buy at your grocery store - not quite as good as Boston Market, but pretty close.
why am i cold? oh yes, i'm outside barefoot
It is not supposed to be this cold in DC at the end of April. While I'm a somewhat new transplant to the DC area, I was not told of having to wear a sweater at the end of April. To combat this blasphemy, I am barefoot, sitting outside in the porch while it's raining. Therefore, I win. Albeit, with cold feet.
Rainy weather always makes me introspective. What am I doing with my life, I'm not doing enough with my life, I wonder how things would have been different if I did something different years ago, and when are they bringing back West Wing? You know, the normal thought provoking topics one internally debates when the look at the rain.
With so many people writing blogs recently, I decided I would try my hand at it. (Because yes, if everyone jumped off a bridge I would too - who would want to be alone in the world?) Of course the question is, what is my nitch?
Oh I know, I can write about puppies.....ah nope, already have a friend that does that - http://istillwantmorepuppies.blogspot.com/
or.........cooking! Wait, nope - http://istillwantmorecupcakes.blogspot.com/
or.......lesbian ramblings? No, not a lesbian, and, http://itsallpowertoolsandshowtunes.blogspot.com/
perhaps updates on reality tv? no, that would mean I would have to watch American Idol, AND http://realitytvismyreality.blogspot.com/
Sigh, perhaps I just write about the random crap that I think about during the day? No one will want to read this anyways, and it's going to be awkward regardless. But, everything you do for the first time is awkward, right? (is it supposed to be like this? that goes where?)
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)


