Wednesday, June 13, 2012

Winey Wednesdays


So today we decided to do a pair of Chardonnay's - each from a different region of California.

Entwine
2010, California
Pale yellow in appearance, almost clear with a hint of green
Smell of Apple and leechee fruit
Taste and pear and fall fruit, light buttery (less than normal Chardonnay's)
Very enjoyable - goes well with light cheese 
Rate:  7.2/10 for wine under $15

Charlone Vineyard
2009, Monteray County California
More gold in appearance, but still very light
Heavy ammonia smell, what winos refer to as "cat urine"
Full for a white, buttery throughout with a butterscotch finish.
I was not pleased with this wine at first - it was hard to get past the smell, but it does grow on you.
Rate 7.3/10 for wines under $15


As I said previously, the boyfriend and I are not familiar with whites, and because of that we are not familiar with food pairings for whites.  However tonight, he nailed it.  The boyfriend made the above plate to go with our side by side tasting.  The is a large triangle of Camembert, thinner slice of Gruyere, and young cows milk cheese with cranberries.  There is also a roasted apricot that is stuffed with Moroccan spiced almonds and pine nuts in a orange, honey syrup. 


Wednesday, June 6, 2012

Winey Wednesday (plus food!)

I decided this week to review a white wine.  I'm a red drinker, so I'm not versed in white wine, but I shall try.  PLUS this week I have a food pairing courtesy of the boyfriend who is wonderful with food.  (If anyone is interested in hiring him to do a food pairing for a wine party, let me know!)

So, I picked a wine from Cotes du Rhone, as I love their red wines.  I'm not familiar with this vineyard, but when I spoke to one of the wine specialists at Total Wine, I was told this is a fuller body white, and I was not disappointed.




The Wine:

J.V. Fleury
Cotes du Rhone Blanc 2010
100% Vigonier grapes.
$13.99 at Total Wine

Appearance:  Straw like, very light
Smell:  Full fruit, heavy on apricot, orange and some lychee - perhaps some floral?
Body: light but full - hows that for oxymoronic?  It was full for a white wine, but obviously light in comparison to what I'm used to drinking reds.
Taste:  Wood, apricot, light honey and floral in the finish.

The finish was dry, which almost mimicked the tannins you find in red wine.

All in all, I was pleasantly surprised by this white.  I normally find whites either too dry or too sweet, this was neither. 

Rating: 7.6/10 for under $15.00.




The food:


As I mentioned, the boyfriend loves to cook.  Whether its small plate fair, or massive amounts of protein, he loves to play with different tastes and spices - I am a lucky girl (although my pants don't thank him)  When I told him I got a white for the review tonight, he came up with a few food pairings to go along:

Spiced apple slices poached in butter, lemon juice and a touch of honey, dusted with cardamom, an aged Italian parmesan style cows milk cheese, a young cranberry cows milk cheese and some Italian bread.
I beleive the boyfriend was doing a deconstructionist version of food, which explained why taken separately, the apples were fine, but not mind blowing.  Now, when you mix the young cow milk cheese with the apple on the bread - you get to experience the different flavors of the apple spices.  Somehow the mixture of the foods brings out the different flavors more than eating each separately.  In all honesty, I was not a fan of the aged cheese, but that's not surprising, as I don't like the texture of block Parmesan cheese.

All in all, a fabulous pairing of interesting wine and wonderful food.

Wednesday, May 16, 2012

Random Photos


Meet Mollie, our new foster dog through www.hart90.org .  She is a 1 year old, 75 pound German Shepard/Collie/Hound/Mutt mix.  She's available for adoption in the Northern VA area if you are interested.....

Winey Wednesday

JT Chateau De Nages
2009
Costieres De Nimes
Red Rhone Style Wine
95% Syrah, 5% Mourvedre
91 
Price: $17.99 at Total Wine 
Rating: 8.45/10 for wines between $15-25

Appearance:  Purple tinted garnet
Legs: takes longer to set which indicated a fuller wine - I was surprised by this, given it's a Syrah
Smell:  one word.  Intense.  Smoke and intense spice with notes of cassis (black licorice) and plum
Taste:  Intense introduction of plum and dark raspberry with sight hints of strawberry and cherry.  Followed by earthy, leather, dirt and a hint of toast ending with slight nutty/chocolate.  Subtle tannins that linger into a medium finish with a dry mouth feel.
Mouth:  Intense, fully bodied coating the mouth.


I was surprised by this wine.  For several reasons.  First, given the intense spicey smell, I was shocked by the fruit forward introduction.  It's startling at first, but after several sips, it grew on me more and more.  Second, considering this is predominantly a Syrah, I was taken back by how intense the wine is.  In my experience, Syrah's are usually full of bright berry flavors that have a sharp mouth feel and medium body.  This wine could, and does, hold up to the bigger, bolder Cabs that I enjoy. 


On a different note, I am very excited for a wine party we are planning.  We attended a wine tasting at a local shop a little while ago, and the idea was proposed to have a wine tasting class at our house.  The boyfriend is busy squirreling away ideas, but since most of our friends are in the beginning level of wine tasting he is planning on doing an introduction to wine class.  3 reds and 3 whites - the traditional types, with cups of ransom spices/flavors......very excited.

Tuesday, May 15, 2012

I love cooking with wine.......sometimes I even add it to the food.


Today I didn't have court, so I decided....what the hell, I'll take a swing at making the French classic Beef Bourguignon for dinner tonight.  Of course, I didn't decide this until about 330pm, which is a little late - as I found it takes roughly 4.5 hours from start to table.  I looked at several different recipes and complied my own recipe from it.  If you are a Julia Child purest, you may not appreciate, but ...here goes.

Ingredients:
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 8 ounces (roughly 4 pieces) dry cured center cut applewood smoked bacon, diced (more on this later)
  • 2 pounds chuck beef cut into 1-inch cubes
  • salt
  • black pepper
  • 1 pound carrots, (roughly 6 good sized carrots) sliced diagonally into 1-inch chunks
  • 1 yellow onion, sliced (when you slice onions = after removing the skin, imagine the top and bottom of the onion as the north and south poles.  You cut downward - from top to bottom.  Cutting the onions like this will allow for smooth cooking.)  

  • 5 cloves garlic minced - or bottled minced garlic
  • 1/2 cup Cognac
  • 1 bottle good dry red wine such as Cote du Rhone
  • 2 cups beef broth - low sodium
  • 1 tablespoon tomato paste
  • 4 fresh thyme sprigs
  • 1 bay leaf
  • several parsley leaves
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter at room temperature
  • 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1 pound pearl onions
  • 2 tablespoons mushroom powder, or 1/2 pound mushrooms with stems removed
  • Fresh bread for serving


1.   Preheat over to 250 degrees.  Cut bread into large pieces and let out to harden.
2.   Heat olive oil in a dutch oven - or large pot that is NOT non stick.
3.   Add bacon to pot over medium heat for 10 minutes, until slightly browned.  Remove bacon with slotted spoon onto a large plate or bowl, leaving the bacon grease in pot 
4.  Dry beef cubes with paper towels.  You want to make sure the beef is dry to allow for better searing.  I dried each piece of beef separately to make sure.  Once all beef is dry, place into bowl and sprinkle liberally with salt and pepper.
5.  Turn up heat to medium high.  Place beef in pot in a single layer.  Do not move beef for at least 1 minute, allowing the beef to sear.  Once you have a good sear on one side, turn beef over in pot so that other side can sear. This will take roughly 2-3 minutes per batch of beef.  Once beef has nice sear all over, remove beef onto plate/bowl with bacon - again, leaving grease in pot.  

6.  Toss carrots and onions with roughly 2 teaspoons each salt and pepper.  Lower heat back to medium and cook the carrots and onions for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally, until onions are slightly browned.  Add 2 cloves of garlic and cook for 1 minute - stirring constantly.
7.  Add Cognac, stand back and drop lit match into pot.  This will burn off the alcohol, leaving behind the taste of the Cognac.  The flame will go out by itself, but have the lid handy, just in case.
8.  Place bacon and beef back into pot.
9.  Add bottle of wine (I kept out 1/3 of the bottle to have with dinner)  Add beef broth until it almost covers the beef.  Add tomato paste and stir.
10.  Place bay leaf, thyme and parsley leaves into a bouquet garni bag (cheese cloth) add to pot.
11.  Bring to simmer - cover with tight fitting lid and place in oven.
12.  Cook in over for at least 1.5 hours.  The longer the better - up to 3 hours.
13.  Pull pot out of oven and place on stove.
14.  In another pot start boiling water.  While waiting for water to boil, cut the very tip of the top and bottom of the pearl onions off.  Do not peel by hand - we are blanching the onions which makes peeling the skin very easy.  Grab a large bowl and fill with cold water and place ice cubes in it.
15.  In small pan, melt 2 tablespoons of butter.  Once melted, with heat on LOW, add 3 tablespoons of flour, one tablespoon at a time.  Whisk after adding each tablespoon.  Keep whisking - once flour is absorbed into the butter, add the next tablespoon.  

While continuing to whisk, slowly add juice from large pot with beef in it.  As soon as you add this juice, the roux will bubble and clump, keep whisking until incorporated, then add some more juice.  Keep doing this and whisking until smooth.  Once smooth, add to the large pot with beef.  Turn heat onto medium high.
16.  By now the pot of water should be boiling - drop the pearl onions into the water and boil for 2 minutes.  

Using a spider, remove the onions and place into ice water.  Once onions are cool to the touch remove the skins by grabbing the "butt" of the onion and squeezing.  Once skin is removed, plop into the pot with beef.
17.  Original recipes call for actual mushrooms.  I do not like the feel of mushrooms, so I use powder.  If you want to use actual mushrooms, melt 2 tablespoons of butter, add the mushrooms and saute for 10 minutes then add to the pot with beef.  If you, like me, use powder, add the powder to the pot with beef. 
18.  Bring the pot with beef to a boil, reduce heat and simmer for 15 minutes.  If after that time it is too liquidy for you - in a small bowl mix 1 tablespoon of cornstarch and cold water then drizzle into pot slowly, stir.  Only add a little bit at a time - stir, wait 5 minutes for it to thicken.  If you want it thicker, add more of the cornstarch mixture.
19.  In small bowl, but 2 tablespoons of butter in bottom of bowl, add two cloves of minced garlic on top.  Put in microwave and defrost, yes defrost, the butter for 1 minute.  Stir.  Brush melted butter with garlic onto one side of the bread.  Broil bread for a minute or two - watching to make sure it doesn't brown.
20.  To plate - put bread on plate and spoon beef mixture on top of bread.  Place leaves of parsley on top.  And enjoy with the wine you reserved for dinner.  

So, with the bacon - when I tasted the finished product, I was happy with the flavor, but wanted more bacon flavor.  I would suggest instead of buying slices of bacon, I would suggest buying block bacon or fatback.  Fatback comes in blocks - find one that is lean which has slivers of meat in it.  Slice this and use instead of bacon - it has a more intense flavor.


Wednesday, May 2, 2012

Winey Wednesday

I love Total Wine.  Obsessively so.  Is it bad that when I walk in there they know my name?  It's my own private Cheers.  I'm not an alcoholic.......shut up.  Anyway, make way for the Wine Tasting: 

Poggio alla Sala  (http://www.poggioallasala.it/vinonobile.en.php)
Vineyard: Famiglia Gattavecchi (which is actually a Resort and Spa in Firenze Italy http://www.resortpoggioallasala.com/site/en/food-a-beverage/wine-nobile-disciplinary.html)  
Style: Vino Nobile Di Montepulciano
Reserva 2006
100% Prognola Gentile Sangiovese
Price: $29  (which is more than I wanted to spend, but Christopher, the wine manager, was very excited about this wine)

Appearance: Ruby/Garnet
Legs: (I still giggle at this) sits on the edge of the glass and descends slowly, indicating a big wine
Smell: Tobacco, red cherry, bark, hint of carraway
Taste:  Moderate intense opening with chalky, dry tannins throughout with a hint of white grape sweetness which quickly gives way to leather, plum, tobacco flavors. For a bold red, it doesn't have the strong finish of a Bordeaux, but it is bold for the area which is known for Chianti.  
Overall impression:  Not an overly complex wine, but not a simple grocery store wine either.  I enjoyed the smell of the wine more than the flavor.  The smell was much more intense than the flavor, which was a slight disappointment.
Rating (for wines between $25-$50): 5.9

Monday, April 23, 2012

Overindulgent America

The best friend is coming to visit.  I pick her up tomorrow around 730pm at National Airport.  She's coming here for a conference in DC, because she's a kick ass lobbyist for the poor.  She works here: http://www.milhs.org/

Anyway, besides being the best friend she is an awesome person.  I still remember the first time I met her in Tallahassee, at my favorite bar. http://www.poorpaulspourhouse.com/  It was her first day in Tallahassee, and I, being a law student, was at the bar early - probably around 4?  She was one of the only other people in there besides the bartenders.  And she was reading a newspaper............AT A BAR.  So, obviously I had to make fun of her, and we were best friends ever since.  

She is an inspiration to many people, although as is true with most self-sacrificing people, she doesn't know how much of an inspiration she really is.  Although we differ on pretty much every political opinion there is (for example: she wants to get rid of most prisons, and I spent most of my career putting people IN prison) she is my person and I love her dearly.


Now, in order to get ready for her visit, I of course, waited until the final days to start cleaning out the guest room.  Which, during our basement renovation project (more to come on that later) has become the storage room for all of our random crap that I have been too busy or lazy to actually put away.  So today, I started cleaning it out.  


We all have these rooms in our houses.  The rooms that we throw things into, without a care for any sort of order - thinking, "I'll put that where it goes later".  Normally this happens when an unexpected guest decides to tell you, 30 minutes before they arrive, that they are dropping by, and you end up shoving everything into this room.  Kinda like the adult version of shoving everything under your bed or in your closet.  


I found bags of clothes that two years ago, when I moved up here, I decided to donate after going through my closet in a half hearted attempt to get my crap in some sort of order.  Yet, two years later, they are still here.  Random craft projects I started, like the cover to my new kitchenaid mixer that I thought I would sew from scratch (those of you that know me, are now laughing outrageously at the thought of me sewing).  Christmas decorations that should be up in the attic.......yes it is the end of April, DON'T JUDGE ME, and kitchen appliances that won't fit into our kitchen.  

So here I am, standing in the middle of a total mess, wondering where in the heck am I going to shove all this crap now.  Because you know I'm not actually going to put it AWAY.  So, of course, I shoved all of it either back into the corners of my bedroom, where she won't go and look, or into the corners of the office (which serves as a secondary storage room at the moment).  You know, like from under the bed to into the closet.

And all this crap that I have accumulated throughout my life got me to thinking.  I remember driving somewhere at somepoint in my life, and looking out the windows and seeing building after building of storage units.  In every town, in every state in the US there are battles waging between self storage companies.  There are programs now on tv about storage wars, and the random junk you can find in an abandoned unit or house or attic.  And I wonder - even in this time of economic recession, we American's still have enough crap in our lives, to keep these businesses afloat and booming.  Call it a nod to the American way of life that we stand in line for 12 hours to buy the new phone that's out - or the new gaming system that is going to change the way we view our boring lives.    When we have such a high level of homelessness or poverty in our country, where people are living without basic necessities of life - instead of donating our random items, we hoard them into units that we pay monthly, never clean out and end up abandoning years later; which, in turn, creates these Storage Wars TV shows.


These self storage units apparently didn't come into being until the 1960's.*  Which I find oddly interesting, as I wonder, why?  Why the 1960's?  I know that some historians view the 60's as an era of irresponsible excess and flamboyance, which would make sense with the coming of age of self storage units.  


Regardless, I shall make an effort to clear the house of excess clutter and donate those things that end up sitting in the corner of some room somewhere collecting dust.   You know, tomorrow, or when I have time.



* http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Self_storage